Psychology

Understanding Dual Credit Education: Theory, Philosophy, and Psychology – The Community College Perspective

Author: 

Johnson, Roscoe A., Ph.D., Professor of English, Lone Star College

Understanding Dual Credit Education: Theory, Philosophy, and Psychology - The Community College Perspective presents an incisive look at the increasingly popular academic program known as dual credit. The book lays out a thorough introduction to the scientific, psychological, and philosophical approaches to understanding human/student learning within the larger context of dual credit education.

Market: 
Education, Higher Education, Secondary Education, Gifted and Talented Programs, Education Policy, Educational Psychology, Sociology, Psychology, Organizational Research, Organizational Development, Behavioral Research, Pedagogy, Teaching, Credit Policy, Community College
Release Date: 
August 1, 2018
ISBN: 
Hardcover: 978-1680530780
Price: 
$129.95
Trim Size: 
6x9
Pages: 
108
Illustrations: 
None
Yes
Publisher: 

ACADEMICA PRESS
1727 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Suite 507
Washington, DC 20036
academicapress.editorial@gmail.com

Issues and Solutions to Women's Empowerment

Author: 

Rincy, V. Matthew, Ph.D. (editor), & Pachanatham, N., Ph.D. (editor)

Credentials: 

Business Administration, Annamalai University

In an era of unprecedented progress in human rights, the need for women's empowerment is being realized more than ever. It has become a significant topic of discussion in society as well as in the workplace.

Market: 
Women's Studies, Political Science, Business, Economics, Education, Development Studies, Management, Entrepreneurship, Education Policy, Educational Psychology, Sociology, Psychology, Organizational Research, Organizational Development, Behavioral Research, Human Rights
Release Date: 
December 15, 2017
ISBN: 
Hardcover: 978-1680530544
Price: 
$129.95
Trim Size: 
6 x 9
Pages: 
264
Illustrations: 
None
Yes
Publisher: 

ACADEMICA PRESS
1727 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Suite 507
Washington, DC 20036
academicapress.editorial@gmail.com

Speaking Out: Reviewing School Suspension Policy

Author: 

Beckett, Jonathan, Ph.D.

This book considers the issue of school suspension and expulsion. In so doing it examines the factors contributing to a suspension or expulsion and uses literature and narrative interview data from a range of participants, including staff and students, to elicit some responses from those involved in this process.

Market: 
Education, Education Policy, Educational Psychology, Sociology, Psychology, Organizational Research, Organizational Development, Behavioral Research, Pedagogy, Teaching, Primary Education, Secondary Education
Release Date: 
October 15, 2017
ISBN: 
Hardcover:978-1680530469
Price: 
$99.95
Trim Size: 
6x9
Pages: 
164
Illustrations: 
None
Yes
Publisher: 

ACADEMICA PRESS
1727 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Suite 507
Washington, DC 20036
academicapress.editorial@gmail.com

Imaginative Inquiry: Innovative Approaches to Interdisciplinary Research

Author: 

Fogel, Dr. Curtis (with Andrea Quinlan,York University and Dr Elizabeth Quinlan, D/Sociology, University of Saskatchewan)

Credentials: 

Ph.Ds (author: D/Interdisciplinary Studies, Lakehead University, Canada)

Academic disciplines have remained largely committed to research methods and methodologies that hinge on simplistic binaries and problematic dichotomies. Despite this historical and contemporary trend in interdisciplinary research, there have been some notable advances in innovative approaches to method and methodology. With the recent growth in these advances, there is an increasing need for texts that document contemporary, innovative approaches to research.

Market: 
Research Methods ,Sociology, Psychology, Nursing, Health Studies, Criminology, Interdisciplinary Studies, History, Political Science, Gender Studies and Anthropology
Release Date: 
September 15th , 2013
ISBN: 
Cloth: 978-1-936320- 43-1
Price: 
$74.95
Trim Size: 
6 x 9
Pages: 
182
Illustrations: 
Yes - B/W photographs/graphs
Yes
Publisher: 

ACADEMICA PRESS
1727 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Suite 507
Washington, DC 20036

Psychophysiological Medicine: A Measurable Metamorphosis of Type A Executive Stress

Author: 

Browne, Thomas G.

Credentials: 

Ph.D; Psychology; Board certified EEG/Biofeedback Institute; Trinity College, Dublin B.Sc.

This research study,one of the first of its kind is a controlled comparison of the effectiveness of two established psycho- physiological treatments on the reduction of stress and behavior-related clinical cardiac symptoms in Type A Executives utilizing a brain-based Neurofeedback or electro- encephalography (EEG) treatment for one randomly selected and assigned group and a Heart Rate Variability treatment for a second group. A third non-treatment group was also measured as a control factor, in order to be able to make a statement regarding potential generalizeability of the outcome possible.

Market: 
Psychology, psycho-physiology, Neuro-Science, Heart Studies, Executive Studies, Type A behavior/measurement
Release Date: 
7/15/2012
ISBN: 
Cloth: 978-1-933146-88-1
Price: 
$79.95
Trim Size: 
6x9
Pages: 
264
Illustrations: 
None
Yes
Publisher: 

ACADEMICA PRESS
1727 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Suite 507
Washington, DC 20036

Cultures of Memory: Memory Culture, Memory Crisis and the Age of Amnesia

Author: 

Roth, Marty

Credentials: 

Ph.D University of Chicago, Professor, D/English University of Minnesota

“There is,to my knowledge, no work in English that covers the field historically and across disciplines as this one does. It gives researchers in many disciplines the full picture of the range of memory studies and once more shows us the critical value of having a memory culture that is an essential construct of civilization and literary and historical culture.”
Ray Hanna, North American Book Reviews

Market: 
Memory Studies, Cultural Amnesia, Literary Studies, Neurosciences, cognitive development, Interdisciplinary Studies, Freud, Proust, Joyce, Genre Literature
Release Date: 
07/08/2011
ISBN: 
Cloth: 978-1-936320-22-6
Price: 
$72.95
Trim Size: 
6x9
Pages: 
146
Illustrations: 
None
Yes
Publisher: 

ACADEMICA PRESS
1727 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Suite 507
Washington, DC 20036

Excellent Teaching in the Excellent University: Realities and Possibilities for Voice in the College Classroom

Author: 

Rabow, Jerome, Charles Powers et al

Credentials: 

D/Sociology and School of Education, UCLA

Utilizing and widening the research of Alfred North Whitehead, Page Smith, Leslie Fiedler, Peter Berger, Goldsmid and Wilson among others, Professor Rabow posits an original research voice challenging the recurrent university emphasis on research at the expense of teaching. He and colleagues discuss the institutional, structural and cultural barriers to excellent teaching in elite universities. Essays explore how these barriers can be overcome and the teaching strategies necessary for success.

Market: 
Education, Educational Sociology, Social Psychology, Multiculturalism in Higher Education, Teaching methodologies
Release Date: 
4/2006
ISBN: 
Cloth: 1-933146-20-6; 978-1933146201
Price: 
$79.95
Trim Size: 
6 x 9
Pages: 
364
Illustrations: 
Yes - Statistical and informational armature: tables and graphs
Yes
Publisher: 

ACADEMICA PRESS
1727 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Suite 507
Washington, DC 20036

The Algerian Destiny of Albert Camus: 1940 – 1962

Author: 

Maougal, Mohamed and Kassoul, Aicha; Translation: Professor Philip Beitchman, NYU

Credentials: 

Authors are senior professors of French Literature, University of Algiers

This monograph (translated from French) is the first attempt to reconcile Camus’s deep-seated identity as an Algerian and his ideas of a multiconfessional, multicultural, non-colonial Algeria. The authors discuss the identity of Camus, his philosophy and politics, including his sexual politics, in light of a southern Mediterranean cultural nexus that stamped Camus as an Algerian rather than French (pied-noir). Camus’s cosmopolitan and radical Algiers of the 30’s is described vibrantly reflecting his extraordinary understanding of the people and landscape that evolved from his journalism.

Market: 
Camus, French/Algerian culture and politics 1940-1962, Francophone studies, Magrebi studies
Release Date: 
09/2006
ISBN: 
Cloth: 1-930901-58-5
Price: 
$74.95
Trim Size: 
6 x 9
Pages: 
312
Illustrations: 
None
Yes
Publisher: 

ACADEMICA PRESS
1727 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Suite 507
Washington, DC 20036

Media: Past, Present and Future

Author: 

Gardiner, W. Lambert

Credentials: 

Ph.D: D/Communications, Concordia University

In the tradition of Harold Innis and Marshall McLuhan, Professor Scott Gardiner approaches media as an extra somatic tool and engages in a bracingly different approach to the purpose and power of media via an investigation into its historical, psychological and technical underpinnings as well as the powerful and disturbing/benign configurations of its future. Gardiner goes beyond the usual sociological level of analysis and the readings approach to the topic.

Market: 
Media Studies; Communications, Theories of Communication, Psychology of Communication
Release Date: 
06/2006
ISBN: 
Paper: 1-933146-00-1
Price: 
$49.95
Trim Size: 
6 x 9
Pages: 
432
Illustrations: 
Yes
Yes
Publisher: 

ACADEMICA PRESS
1727 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Suite 507
Washington, DC 20036

From Insanity to Diminished Capacity: Mental Illness and Criminal Excuse in Contemporary American Law

Author: 

Fradella, Henry F.

Credentials: 

Ph.D, JD (George Washington University); author of Forensic Psychology: The Use of Behavioral Sciences in Civil and Criminal Justice (Taylor&Francis)

Professor Fradella’s new monograph traces the development of defenses of excuse from their English Common Law roots to their various modern formulations under U.S.Law.

Market: 
Law, Justice Studies, Criminal Justice, Criminology/Sociology, forensic psychology
Release Date: 
03/2007
ISBN: 
Cloth: 1-933146-31-1
Price: 
$74.95
Trim Size: 
6 x 9
Pages: 
164
Illustrations: 
None
Yes
Publisher: 

ACADEMICA PRESS
1727 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Suite 507
Washington, DC 20036

Syndicate content