Science and Medicine

Semiconductor Design and Implementation Issues in Integrated Vehicle Electronics

Author: 

Hall, John

Credentials: 

Ph.D. (MIT)

This major research study provides a fresh, critical look at the way automobile electronics are and should be built. Written by Silicon Valley pioneer John Hall, this book is based on his nearly 40 years of experience in developing and producing semiconductors for the automobile industry and other customers.

Market: 
Electronic Engineering, Electromagnetics, Computer Science, Automobile Design Engineering
Release Date: 
12/2004
ISBN: 
1933146-01-X / 9781933146010
Price: 
$34.95
Trim Size: 
6 x 9
Pages: 
164
Illustrations: 
Yes - Statistical and informational armature: tables and graphs
Yes
Publisher: 

ACADEMICA PRESS
1727 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Suite 507
Washington, DC 20036

The Evolution Reader

Author: 

Harper, Lila, Editor

Credentials: 

Ph.D, Program on Writing, MIT

This work examines text as cultural force. It specifically discusses the thematic potency of Evolution as the evolutionary topics of the Darwin and the post Darwin generation increasingly found their way into popular discourse and popular culture in the 19th and 20th centuries. Both Britain and America were (and to an interesting degree, still are)the center of a series of debates about evolutionary development of life. Unlike Appleman’s critical edition of Darwin (now in 3/E) this collection emphasizes literary and popular responses using original material and debates.

Market: 
Science and Culture, Evolution and the literature of Biology, popular culture 19th-20th century and Science., Darwin and Darwinism
Release Date: 
10/2006
ISBN: 
Cloth: 1-933146-18-4
Price: 
$74.95
Trim Size: 
6 x 9
Pages: 
268
Illustrations: 
Yes
Yes
Publisher: 

ACADEMICA PRESS
1727 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Suite 507
Washington, DC 20036

The Path to Posthumanity: Aspects of Near-Future Science and Technology

Author: 

Goertzel, Ben

Credentials: 

Ph.D MIT; AGIRI leader Ben Goertzel is a well known Silicon Valley entrepreneur (Webmind.com) as well as a university researcher and professor

This work describes the near future technologies and scientific changes that will effect human life in the next 25 years. Artifical intelligence is a major theme of this book as is computing and biotech. The author argues we are in a transitional period in which the major changes of the next quarter century are only barely developed: genome research, human enhancement, computer to computer research, bioinformatics to mention only a few.

Market: 
Artificial Intelligence, Theory, computing, biotech research, product planning and research
Release Date: 
2006
ISBN: 
Cloth: 1-930901-95-7
Price: 
$54.95
Trim Size: 
6 x 9
Pages: 
284
Illustrations: 
Yes
Yes
Publisher: 

ACADEMICA PRESS
1727 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Suite 507
Washington, DC 20036

Social and Institutional Elements of Disaster Vulnerability: The Case of South India

Author: 

Lee Bosher, FRGS

Credentials: 

Ph.D; D/Civil and Building Engineering, Loughborough University Author of Hazards and the Built Environment (Taylor&Francis)

Studies over the last twenty years show that understanding the social and economic forces that govern society and create vulnerability should have the same emphasis as understanding the physical causes of vulnerability.

Market: 
ENGINEERING: Disaster and Emergency Planning/Management, Civil Defense, Civil Engineering, Disaster /Medical intervention, Safety Design (Engineering), India (Area studies)
Release Date: 
8/2007
ISBN: 
Cloth: 978-1-933146-35-5
Price: 
$84.95
Trim Size: 
6 x 9
Pages: 
324
Illustrations: 
Yes - Statistical and informational armature: tables and graphs
Yes
Publisher: 

ACADEMICA PRESS
1727 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Suite 507
Washington, DC 20036

Inhuman: The Internet, Education and Humanity

Author: 

Redeker, Robert; translated and with an introduction by Philip Beitchman with an Introduction by Christian Delacampagne, author of A History of French Philosophy in the Twentieth Century (Johns Hopkins,1999)

Credentials: 

Author is well known French philosopher and board member of Les Temps Modernes; translator is professor of Philosophy at St. John’s University (NY)

The transformation of Western civilization into a planetary society of information and communication compels us to pose some philosophical and political questions about the influence of these new technologies on education. This author, a philosopher, journalist, literary critic, and also a member of the board of Les Temps Modernes, has concluded that Information Science and Internet do represent grave dangers for education, since they rather show us a way of avoiding the teacher and teaching (“how not to teach”) than help teach.

Market: 
Education:; Philosophy, postmodern; Pedagogy and Science
Release Date: 
7/2003
ISBN: 
Cloth: 1-930901-33-X
Price: 
$44.95
Trim Size: 
6 x 9
Pages: 
114
Illustrations: 
None
Yes
Publisher: 

ACADEMICA PRESS
1727 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Suite 507
Washington, DC 20036

The New Medical Sociology: Compelling Current Narratives

Author: 

Sperber, Irwin

Credentials: 

Ph.D. Sociology; Professor, SUNY New Paltz

In the tradition of C. Wright Mills and Irving Goffman, this monograph brings current research and insight to a social science research area famed for its fissiparous polemical battles. Sperber surveys the field from Durkheim to the present and discusses both the origins of the Radical and neo-Marxist perspective as well as the mainstream, functionalist school of research.

Market: 
Medical Sociology; Medicine and Society, Cultural Sociology, Social Anthropology
Release Date: 
11/2009
ISBN: 
Paper: 978-1-933146-56-0 / 193314656-7
Price: 
$44.95
Trim Size: 
6 x 9
Pages: 
324
Illustrations: 
Yes
Yes
Publisher: 

ACADEMICA PRESS
1727 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Suite 507
Washington, DC 20036

Science on Four Wheels: The European Travels of Roderick Murchison

Author: 

Collie, Michael

Credentials: 

Ph.D; Dean,Faculty of Graduate Studies, York University, Toronto; Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and fellow of the Geological Society(London)

Professor Collie has studied and written about Sir Roderick Murchison in several monographs. This study deals with Murchison and the wider and more general activity of scientific travels in the mid 19th C. This work introduces the reader to the practices of intellectual and cultural exchange in Continental Europe. These exchanges, despite the political pressures that often mitigated against the free flow of ideas, were increased as steam power and telegraphs made there way from West to East and intrepid savants, such as the eminent geologist Muchison.

Market: 
History of Science,19thc, Victorian travel and travelers, Russia 19thc, Industrial history(UK), History of Geology
Release Date: 
10/2009
ISBN: 
Cloth: 978-1-933146-59-1/193314659-1
Price: 
$82.95
Trim Size: 
6 x 9
Pages: 
364
Illustrations: 
None
Yes
Publisher: 

ACADEMICA PRESS
1727 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Suite 507
Washington, DC 20036

The Climatic Risk Atlas of European Butterflies

Author: 

Settele J, Kudrna O, Harpke A, Kuehn I, van Swaay C, Verovnik R, Warren M, Wiemers M, Hanspach J, Hickler T, Kuehn E, van Halder I, Veling K, Vliegenthart A, Wynhoff I, Schweiger O Helmholtz Center, Germany

Climate change will cause Europe to lose much of its biodiversity as projected by a comprehensive study on future butterfly distribution. The Climatic Risk Atlas of European Butterflies predicts northward shifts in potential distribution area of many European butterfly species. As early warning indicators of environmental change, butterflies are a valuable tool to assess overall climate change impact and to provide some indication on the chances to come nearer to the target of halting the loss of biodiversity by 2010 set by the EU Heads of State in 2001.

Market: 
Entomology, European Ecology,Climatic Risk,Biorisk Studies
Release Date: 
1/2009
ISBN: 
Cloth: ISBN 978-954-642-455-6 (hardback), 165x240, full color edition, recent and modeled (2050, 2080) distribution maps, photo and data on biology and ecology of each species, general chapter on methods of mapping and modeling, references, index, in English
Price: 
$189.95
Trim Size: 
6 x 9
Pages: 
464
Illustrations: 
Yes
Yes
Publisher: 

ACADEMICA PRESS
1727 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Suite 507
Washington, DC 20036

Prime Butterfly Areas in Serbia

Author: 

Jaksich, P., Editor

Credentials: 

Ph.D

This is a long awaited study of Balkan entomology for the professional as well as the enthusiast. Wartime conditions have prevailed in Serbia until the last few years. Now remote areas and border areas long off limits are fully explored for their butterfly potential. Survival rates and ecological conditions discussed as well as the first complete survey in over 20 years. CD included. Entire work is in English.

Distributed with cooperation of Pensoft.

Market: 
Entomology, Balkan Entomology, Ecology
Release Date: 
12/2008
ISBN: 
Cloth: ISBN 978-86-912033-0-6
Price: 
$84.95
Trim Size: 
165 x 240mm
Pages: 
223
Illustrations: 
Yes
Yes
Publisher: 

ACADEMICA PRESS
1727 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Suite 507
Washington, DC 20036

The Decline of Nature: Environmental History and the Western Worldview

Author: 

LaFreniere, Gilbert

Credentials: 

Ph.D, UCSB: Professor of Environmental Studies, Willamette University

“No book could be more timely then The Decline of Nature. LaFreniere offers an in-depth analysis of the fundamental issues that must be faced if solutions for environmental crisis are to be found. His arguments are a refreshing alternative to the superficial policy proposals of politicians and the glib reporting of the mass media. — The Decline of Nature is a masterful critique of the stories that own us. LaFreniere’s analytical effort is a veritable tour de force.”
From the Foreword by Professor Max Oelschlaeger, Northern Arizona University

Market: 
Environmental History, Environmental Studies, Intellectual History
Release Date: 
07/2007
ISBN: 
PAPER: 978-1-933146-51-5 / 1933146-51-6
Price: 
$34.95
Trim Size: 
6 x 9
Pages: 
476
Illustrations: 
Yes
Yes
Publisher: 

ACADEMICA PRESS
1727 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Suite 507
Washington, DC 20036

Syndicate content